Nerd Core Fixating

Setting Context

Got up today, tried to get work done, and scraped out a few tasks. Somehow, Nerd Core's gravity pulled me back. This time it started with MC Lars. One of my grad students told me about "Flow Like Poe," and I remembered to go watch it. Awesome!


 And then I saw this anti-bullying track:


Sweet! That got me going. I managed to stumble into some hacker/nerd core by Dual Core.


Looking Deeper

Poked around some more and discovered that a bunch of these artists are working at/through BandCamp. Beefy's one of them. Adam Warrock's there, too.

Was happy to discover that a fair number of Nerd Core rappers are on Spotify.


Honestly, some of the Nerd Core tracks work for me but a bunch don't. Reminds me a lot of Hard Core--some home runs, some fails, but the intention and intensity is largely there. At this point, though, have to say that I am digging Adam Warrock most--he has consistency across the tracks I have heard.

Warrock has tracks about Dr. Who



And so many more great comics, sci-fi, and nerd/geek themes. Excellent!


Only Touching the Surface

Obviously I'm only touching the surface at this point. I thought I was going deeper, but it became clear that the genre is spiraling out in many directions--farther than I'd expected. Each time I take a look at the Nerd Core genre, it seems to have spread farther, have more interesting work, and added more artists. Great things!